Parse error: in /home/pwm/www/wp-content/plugins/wp-member/includes/install.php(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code on line 1

Parse error: in /home/pwm/www/wp-content/plugins/wp-member/wp-member-main.php(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code on line 2

Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/pwm/www/wp-content/plugins/wp-member/includes/install.php(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code:1) in /home/pwm/www/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 524

Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/pwm/www/wp-content/plugins/wp-member/includes/install.php(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code:1) in /home/pwm/www/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 524
» Exploring Practice with Clea Minaker

Exploring Practice with Clea Minaker

An exploration of the puppetry creation process

...

This 15-hour workshop explores the interdisciplinary nature of the puppetry creation process while initiating participants to fundamental aspects of the form. Through exercises and personal creations, participants will explore the performing object as both an interpretive tool, and an aesthetic gesture. The Puppetry arts are often described as sitting at the crossroads between the visual and performing arts. Both in traditional forms, and in contemporary experimentations, puppetry combines elements of physical and embodied research, with aesthetic and material research.

As all materials possess a distinct poetic, and expressive force, they also offer distinct dramaturgical possibilities. In the ‘theatre of materials’ we often speak of visual dramaturgy. Dramaturgies that are not subordinate to written text, but that operate freely, in parallel to it. Through the elaboration of a unique scenic and movement vocabulary, a ‘world’, complete with its own system of meaning is constructed. As the performer skilfully guides the gaze of the audience towards that which is to be seen, she is complicit with, and integral to, the dramatic action that is unfolding.

When developing puppetry and image-based performance work, the creation process inevitably reflects the interdisciplinary nature of the form, wherein design and performance, dialogue continuously. This workshop proposes to explore the dialogue.

...

Clea Minaker's Biography

A performer, designer, director, and puppeteer, Clea Minaker brings the language of contemporary puppetry arts to collaborations across multiple disciplines: theatre, music, opera, dance, film, and community arts. She has created commissioned, collaborative works for: Istanbul Independent International Film Festival IF!; with Hajra Waheed at ART Dubai; The Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego; Festival Casteliers, Stravinsky’s ‘Firebird’ with the N.A.C Orchestra, and at ‘Convergence, An International Summit on Art and Technology’ at The Banff Centre. Other notable collaborations include: the creation of shadow stage show for Feist, ‘The Reminder Tour’, ‘Nufonia Must Fall’ with Kid Koala, ‘Tales from Odessa’ with So-called and shadow design for Atom Egoyan’s ‘Salomé’ at the Canadian Opera Company. In 2013, Clea premiered her first solo creation, ‘The Book of Thel’, at Lachapelle Scène Contemporaines in Montréal. Clea has been a guest instructor, director, and artist-in- residence at: Concordia University Theatre Department, Mcgill University English Department, The University of British Columbia, Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies. She has directed at Geordie Theatre, and worked with community arts companies, Shadowland Theatre, Jumblies Theatre, and Nunavik Theatre Arts.

Clea was a puppeteer and puppet designer for the short film, ‘Higgelty Piggelty Pop! (or there must be more to life)’ directed by the Montreal film duo Clyde Henry (produced by N.F.B, Warner Bros). Clea was awarded the Siminovitch Protégé Prize for Theatre Design in 2009, by Siminovitch prize-winner and puppeteer Ronnie Burkett. Clea Minaker trained at the L’École Nationale Superieure des Arts de la Marionnette (2002 -2005) located at the International Institute of Puppetry Arts in Charleville-Mezieres, France.

...

Dates: February 20th to 24th, 2017 Time: 3 PM to 6 PM Fee: $45 (for members and non-members) Application: Send a cover letter describing your interest in the sessions, a biography and CV to emma@playwrights.ca with subject: exploring practice Clea Minaker Deadline: February 10, 2017 at 5 PM

...

Training made possible by Emploi-Québec

...

...

Sign up for Newsletter

* Mandatory fields

Parse error: in /home/pwm/www/wp-content/plugins/wp-member/includes/install.php(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code on line 1

Parse error: in /home/pwm/www/wp-content/plugins/wp-member/wp-member-main.php(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code on line 2

Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/pwm/www/wp-content/plugins/wp-member/includes/install.php(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code:1) in /home/pwm/www/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 524

Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/pwm/www/wp-content/plugins/wp-member/includes/install.php(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code:1) in /home/pwm/www/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 524
» Exploration des pratiques avec Clea Minaker

Exploration des pratiques avec Clea Minaker

« An exploration of the puppetry creation process »

...

Les 15 heures de cet atelier propose une interrogation sur la nature interdisciplinaire du processus de création des arts de la marionnette et une initiation aux aspects fondamentaux de cet art. À travers des exercices et des courtes créations, les participants exploreront l’objet performatif celui-ci étant un outil de l’interprète ainsi qu’un geste esthétique en soit.

L’art de la marionnette est souvent situé aux frontières des arts visuels et de la scène. Tant dans ses formes traditionnelles que dans ses expérimentations contemporaines, l’art de la marionnette recourt à des éléments physiques, incarnés, alliés à des démarches et des matériaux esthétiques.

Tous les matériaux plastiques contiennent une force d’expression et une présence poétique, et peuvent offrir des possibilités dramaturgiques distinctes. Dans l’art de la marionnette, et des théâtres dits ‘matériels’, on parle souvent de dramaturgie ‘visuelle’: celle-ci n’est pas subordonnée au texte mais fonctionne librement en parallèle afin de construire un monde et un vocabulaire scénique propre. Tandis que l’interprète dirige le regard du spectateur et délègue ce qui doit être vu, elle est complicité à part entière avec l’action dramatique qui se déroule.

Le processus créatif menant à l’écriture ou à la composition d’une œuvre visuelle pour la scène reflète immanquablement la nature interdisciplinaire de cette pratique, dans laquelle un dialogue contenue entre le plateau et l’atelier est essentiel. Ce stage propose une exploration de ce dialogue.

...

Biographie de Clea Minaker

Interprète, conceptrice, metteure en scène et marionnettiste, Clea Minaker transporte le langage de la marionnette contemporaine à travers ses collaborations avec de multiples disciplines : le théâtre, la musique, l’opéra, la danse, le cinéma et les arts communautaires. Elle a reçu des commandes et collaboré à la création d’œuvres pour le festival international du film indépendant d’Istanbul IF!; pour ART Dubai avec Hajra Waheed; pour le Musée d’art contemporain de San Diego; pour le Festival des Casteliers; pour l’Oiseau de feu de Stravinsky à l’Orchestre du CNA et au Convergence, An International Summit on Art and Technology du Centre Banff. Elle compte aussi à son actif des collaborations avec Feist pour sa tournée « The Reminder Tour », Kid Koala pour « Nufonia Must Fall », « So-called » pour Tales from Odessa et Atom Egoyan pour sa mise en scène de Salomé à la Canadian Opera Company. En 2013, Clea crée son premier spectacle solo, « The Book of Thel », à La Chapelle-Scènes Contemporaines. Clea est aussi une enseignante invitée, une metteure en scène et artiste en résidence au département de théâtre de l’Université Concordia, au département d’études anglaises de l’Université McGill, à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et à la faculté des études critiques et en création. Elle a mis en scène chez Geordie Theatre et travaille avec des compagnies d’arts communautaires comme Shadowland Theatre, Jumblies Theatre et les Nunavik Theatre Arts.

Clea a conçu et manipulé les marionnettes pour le court-métrage « Higgelty Piggelty Pop! (or there must be more to life) », réalisé par le duo de cinéastes montréalais Clyde Henry (produit par l’ONF). En 2009, Clea a reçu le prix Siminovitch de scénographie comme protégé du marionnettiste Ronnie Burkett. Clea a reçu sa formation à l’École nationale supérieure des Arts de la Marionnette (2002-2005) de l’Institut International de la Marionnette de Charleville-Mézières, en France.

...

Dates : 20 au 24 février 2017

Heure : 15h à 18h

Coût : 45$ (pour les membres et les non membres)

Application : envoyez une lettre de présentation décrivant votre intérêt pour les cours, ainsi qu'une biographie et CV à emma@playwrights.ca avec le sujet: Exploration des pratiques Clea Minaker

Date limite : 10 février 2017 à 17h

...

Formation rendu possible grâce à la contribution financière d'Emploi-Québec

...

...

Inscrivez-vous à notre bulletin

* Champs obligatoires