Who We Are

We acknowledge that we are evolving as a company, our dramaturgical thinking is dynamic, and we commit to holding our website being dynamic as well. 


Équipe

CLICK ON THE PICTURES TO LEARN OUR STORIES.

Lesley Bramhill

lesley@playwrights.ca

Fatma Sarah Elkashef

sarah@playwrights.ca

Jesse Stong

jesse@playwrights.ca

Emma Tibaldo

emma@playwrights.ca

Maureen Labonté

maureen@playwrights.ca

potatoCakes_digital

potatocakesdigital@playwrights.ca

Juan Velasquez

juan@playwrights.ca

Heather Eaton

heather@playwrights.ca

Harris Frost

harris@playwrights.ca

Danielle Eyer

danielle@playwrights.ca

Photographie par Nasuna Dawn.

Histoire

Photo of Carol Libman and Roy Higgins

Le Playwrights’ Workshop Montréal a été fondé en 1963 par la Division de l’Ouest du Québec du Dominion Drama Festival. Créé par les artistes de théâtre canadiens Guy Beaulne, Dan Daniels, Carol Libman, Aviva Ravel, Walter Massey et Victor Knight, l’organisme s’est d’abord donné pour mission de s’attaquer à la rareté des pièces et des dramaturges canadiens anglais. Le PWM est rapidement devenu un intervenant de premier plan dans la création de nouvelles pièces de théâtre.

Sous la direction artistique de Roy Higgins dans les années soixante-dix, le PWM entreprend des démarches pour devenir une compagnie de production théâtrale et procède à l’acquisition d’un immeuble dans le Vieux-Montréal. Cependant, la tension qui règne entre la production et le développement devient trop forte et le projet est rapidement démantelé.

En 1975, Bob White devient le premier dramaturge-directeur artistique du PWM. En vue de protéger le processus de développement des pressions de la production, il renforce l’accent mis par l’organisation sur la dramaturgie et le développement. Par la suite, les directeurs artistiques Per Brask et Brian Richmond continuent de développer cette vision et travaillent à étendre la portée de l’organisation aux quatre coins du pays.

En 1981, la directrice artistique Rina Fraticelli ajoute la traduction à la programmation du PWM. Michael Springate, Svetlana Zylin, Michael Devine et Peter Smith succèdent à Rina Fraticelli dans le poste de directeur artistique. Chacun d’entre eux contribue à rehausser le profil du PWM à l’échelle tant locale que nationale.

À titre de directrice artistique de 1998 à 2007, Paula Danckert fait avancer la stabilité artistique du PWM en créant le poste permanent de dramaturge en résidence. En 2006, avec l’appui de Briony Glassco, elle établit la Résidence de traduction Glassco à Tadoussac.

Emma Tibaldo est nommée directrice artistique et générale en 2008. Sa priorité est d’encourager le développement continu du théâtre professionnel local tout en continuant d’accueillir des artistes de partout au pays. En 2013, le Playwrights’ Workshop Montréal célèbre son 50e anniversaire.



Groupe des 5

Header image for the Group of 5 webpage. Name of the group and image of the Firestation 14, expected home of the group.

Qu'est-ce que le Groupe des 5 ?

Le Groupe des 5 est un collectif de 5 compagnies théâtrales indépendantes professionnelles de langue anglaise cherchant à partager un espace créatif et administratif pour établir un écosystème artistique durable. Le Groupe des 5 vise à fournir à ses membres une infrastructure permanente et viable - un espace physique - où les membres peuvent partager leurs ressources, créer, et développer leur communauté.

Qui fait partie du Groupe des 5 ?

Les cinq compagnies de théâtre dynamiques du Groupe de 5 sont :

Qu'est-ce qui guide le Groupe des 5 ?

La vision du Groupe des 5 est de soutenir le développement et la présence du théâtre professionnel de langue anglaise dans le paysage artistique québécois et montréalais. Le collectif galvaniserait les échanges et le partage de ressources entre ses membres - à la fois passés et présents - dans le but de renforcer la communauté minoritaire de langue anglaise et d'élargir la portée, l'inclusivité, et le dynamisme du théâtre québécois.

Nous pensons qu'un espace partagé et l'écosystème collectif qui en résulte élargiront les frontières de la création théâtrale.

The Group of 5 is radio-controlled by the following five principles:

  1. ÊTRE LEADERS dans la communauté
  2. CONSTRUIRE une infrastructure collective
  3. SÉCURISER les fondations pour un théâtre de langue anglaise à Montréal
  4. PROMOUVOIR l'échange et la coopération entre artistes
  5. EXPÉRIMENTER avec les nouvelles technologies

Who We Are

We acknowledge that we are evolving as a company, our dramaturgical thinking is dynamic, and we commit to holding our website being dynamic as well. 


History

Photo of Carol Libman and Roy Higgins

Playwrights’ Workshop Montréal was founded in 1963 by the Western Quebec Division of the Dominion Drama Festival. The brainchild of Canadian theatre artists Guy Beaulne, Dan Daniels, Carol Libman, Aviva Ravel, Walter Massey and Victor Knight, the organization’s first mission was to tackle the then scarcity of English-Canadian plays and playwrights. Soon after its conception, PWM became a leading voice in the creation of new plays.

Under Roy Higgins’ artistic direction in the seventies, PWM took steps to becoming a producing theatre and purchased a building in Old Montréal. However, the tension between production and development became too great and the project was quickly dismantled.

In 1975, Bob White became PWM’s first Dramaturg-Artistic Director. With a view to protecting the development process from production pressures, he strengthened the organization’s focus on dramaturgy and development. Subsequent ADs Per Brask and Brian Richmond continued to build on this legacy and worked to expand the organization’s reach from coast to coast.

In 1981, AD Rina Fraticelli added translation to PWM’s programming. Michael Springate, Svetlana Zylin, Michael Devine and Peter Smith succeeded Rina Fraticelli as artistic directors. Each contributed to increasing PWM’s profile both locally and nationally.

As Artistic Director from 1998 to 2007, Paula Danckert increased PWM’s artistic stability by introducing the permanent position of Dramaturg-in-Residence. In 2006, with support from Briony Glassco, she established the Glassco Translation Residency in Tadoussac.

Emma Tibaldo was appointed Artistic and Executive Director in 2008. Her priority has been to encourage the continued development of professional theatre locally while continuing to welcome visiting artists from across the country. In 2013, Playwrights’ Workshop Montréal celebrated its 50th anniversary.


Team

CLICK ON THE PICTURES OR ON THE NAMES TO LEARN OUR STORIES.

Emma Tibaldo

Lesley Bramhill

Fatma Sarah Elkashef

Jesse Stong

Maureen Labonté

potatoCakes_digital

Marc Duez

Heather Eaton

Harris Frost

Juan Velasquez

Danielle Eyer

Photography by Nasuna Dawn.


Group of 5

Header image for the Group of 5 webpage. Name of the group and image of the Firestation 14, expected home of the group.

What is the Group of  5?

The Group of 5 is a collective of 5 professional independent English-language theatre companies seeking to share a creative and administrative space to establish a sustainable arts ecosystem. The Group of 5 aims to provide its members with a permanent and viable infrastructure – a physical space – where members can share resources, create, and grow our community.

Who is in the Group of 5?

The five dynamic theatre companies in the Group of 5 are:

What guides the Group of 5?

The vision for the Group of 5 is to sustain the development and presence of professional English-language theatre in the Quebec and Montreal arts landscape. The collective would galvanize exchanges and resources sharing among its members – both past and present–with the aim to strengthen the English-language minority community and expand upon the scope, inclusivity, and vibrancy of Quebec theatre.

We believe a shared space and the resulting collective ecosystem will expand the boundaries of theatrical creation.

The Group of 5 is radio-controlled by the following five principles:

  1. BEING LEADERS in the community
  2. BUILDING a collective infrastructure
  3. SECURING a foundation for English-language theatre in Montreal
  4. PROMOTING exchange and cooperation between artists
  5. EXPERIMENTING with new technologies